# Minutes from Rocketship Public Schools National Board of Directors Meeting (2020-21 Q1) (Wednesday, September 16, 2020)

## 1. Opening Items

### A. Call to order

At 2:01 pm, Mr. Jordan took roll call. With a quorum of Board members present, Mr. Jordan called the meeting to order.

Present: Louis Jordan, Alex Terman, Charmaine Detweiler, Greg Stanger, Joey Sloter, Julia Stiglitz, Ray Raven, Yolanda Bernal Samano, June Nwabara, Mai Huong Ho-Tran, Ralph Weber, Jean-Claude Brizard, Daniel Velasco, Mike Fox, and Deb McGriff

Advisor: Peter Philpott

## B. Public comment on off-agenda items

At 2:03 pm, Mr. Jordan called for public comment on off-agenda items. While members of the public were in attendance via Zoom, no comment was made.

## 2. Consent Items

- A. Approve minutes from the August 26th, 2020 meeting of the Board of Directors
- B. Reappoint June Nwabara, Abby Spaulding, Phil Elbert, and Dr. James Hildreth to the TN Board of Trustees for a two-year term through 2022
- C. Approve Agreement for Charter School Retirement Reporting Services with Santa Clara County Office of Education
- D. Approve the addendum to Section 1: Governance and Organizational Management for Rocketship Futuro MOU with California State Board of Education
- E. Approve the Non-public Placement Monitoring Policy (CA only)
- F. Approve the 19-20 unaudited actuals for all CA schools
- G. Approve 20-21 waiver applications for in-person instruction in Santa Clara County, San Mateo County, and Contra Costa County

At 2:05 pm, Mr. Jordan called for a motion to approve consent items. A motion was made by Ms. Detweiler, seconded by Ms.McGriff, and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Y: Louis Jordan, Alex Terman, Charmaine Detweiler, Greg Stanger, Joey Sloter, Julia Stiglitz, Ray Raven, Yolanda Bernal Samano, June Nwabara, Ralph Weber, Jean-Claude Brizard, Daniel Velasco, and Deb McGriff N: --

Abstain: --

## 3. Agenda Items

# A. Approve the Learning Continuity and Attendance plans for all 13 California Schools

At 2:07pm, the board discussed agenda item 3(A). At 2:10 pm, Mr. Jordan called for a motion to approve consent items. A motion was made by Mr. Brizard, seconded by Mr.Terman, and carried unanimously by roll call vote. Y: Louis Jordan, Alex Terman, Charmaine Detweiler, Greg Stanger, Joey Sloter, Julia Stiglitz, Ray Raven, Yolanda Bernal Samano, June Nwabara, Ralph Weber, Jean-Claude Brizard, Daniel Velasco, and Deb McGriff N: --

Abstain: --

# 4. Closed Session

At 2:11pm, Mr. Jordan called for a motion to move to closed session including Preston Smith. A motion was made by Mr. Terman, seconded by Ms. Sloter, and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Y: Louis Jordan, Alex Terman, Charmaine Detweiler, Greg Stanger, Joey Sloter, Julia Stiglitz, Ray Raven, Yolanda Bernal Samano, June Nwabara, Ralph Weber, Jean-Claude Brizard, Daniel Velasco, and Deb McGriff

N: --

Abstain: --

Mike Fox and Mai Huong Ho-Tran joined the meeting.

# A. Public employee performance evaluations pursuant to California Government Code § 54957 Title: Chief Executive Officer

## 5. Agenda Items, Continued

### A. Public report on actions taken in closed session

At 3:30pm, Mr. Jordan reported that no action was taken in closed session.

## 6. Adiourn

At 3:32pm, Mr. Jordan called for a motion to adjourn the meeting. A motion was made by Mr. Brizard seconded by Ms. Detweiler, and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Y: Louis Jordan, Alex Terman, Charmaine Detweiler, Greg Stanger, Joey Sloter, Julia Stiglitz, Ray Raven, Yolanda Bernal Samano, June Nwabara, Mai Huong Ho-Tran, Ralph Weber, Jean-Claude Brizard, Daniel Velasco, Mike Fox, and Deb McGriff

N: --

Abstain: --

Respectfully Submitted,

Jasmine Ferguson Senior Operations & Compliance Associate Rocketship Public Schools