Rocketship Public Schools National Board of Directors Meeting (2023-24 Q4) (Wednesday, May 29, 2024)

Generated by Cristina Vasquez on Thursday, May 30, 2024

1. Opening Items

A. Call to order

At 4:31pm, Mr. Jordan took roll call. With a quorum of board members present, Mr. Jordan called the meeting to order. Present: Alex Terman, April Taylor, Charmaine Detweiler, Dan Sanchez, Daniel Velasco, Deb McGriff, Greg Stanger, Hugo Castaneda, Julie Miller, June Nwabara, Michelle Mercado, Rajen Sheth, Louis Jordan

Absent: Brian Kilb, Deja Gipson, Joey Sloter, Malka Borrego, Mike Fox, Ray Raven, Yolanda Bernal Samano, *Peter Philpott (advisor)

B. Public comment on off-agenda items

At 4:33pm, Mr. Jordan called for public comment on off-agenda items. No members of the public provided comment.

2. Consent Items

- A. Approve minutes from the March 6, 2024 meeting of the Board of Directors
- B. Reappoint Courtney Shenberg to the Rocketship Public Schools Audit Committee and the Rocketship Public Schools California Board Committee through the end of May 2026
- C. Reappoint Rajen Sheth and Hugo Castaneda to the Rocketship Public Schools Board of Directors through the end of May 2026
- D. Reappoint Yolanda Bernal Samano and Hugo Castaneda to the Rocketship Public Schools California Board Committee for the remainder of their term on the Rocketship Public Schools Board of Directors
- E. Reappoint Ruben Solorio to the Rocketship Public Schools California Board Committee through the end of May 2026
- F. Reappoint Rajen Sheth to the Rocketship Public Schools Achievement Committee for the remainder of their term on the Rocketship Public Schools Board of Directors
- G. Reappoint Ken Kumer and Rob Elliott as advisors to the Rocketship Public Schools Business Committee for a term of two years through May 2026
- H. Reappoint Brooke Stafford-Brizard as advisor to the Rocketship Public Schools Achievement Committee for a term of two years through May 2026
- I. Approve the Rocketship Public Schools Expanded Learning Opportunities Program (ELOP) Plan for all thirteen California Rocketship schools
- J. Approve the Prop 28 Annual Report for Fiscal Year 2023-2024 for all thirteen California Rocketship schools K. Ratification of the Rocketship Audit Committee approval the revised scope of work from CliftonLarsonAllen (CLA) for the FY24 Audit
- L. Approve Uniform Complaint Procedures (UCP)
- M. Approve Title IX Policy and Grievance Procedures

At 4:34pm, Ms. Detweiler made a motion to approve the consent items. This motion was seconded by Ms. Nwabara, and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Y: Alex Terman, April Taylor, Charmaine Detweiler, Dan Sanchez, Daniel Velasco, Deb McGriff, Greg Stanger, Hugo Castaneda, Julie Miller, June Nwabara, Michelle Mercado, Rajen Sheth, Louis Jordan

N: --

Abstain: --

3. Information Items

A. IRS Form 990 for Rocketship Education for fiscal year ending 6/30/23

At 4:35pm, the board presented agenda item 3(A). No action was taken.

4. Agenda Items

A. LCAP Public Hearing

At 4:36pm, the board discussed agenda item 4(A). No action was taken.

At 4:37pm, Mike Fox and Yolanda Bernal Samano joined the meeting.

At 4:51pm, Joey Sloter joined the meeting.

B. Approve Resolution #2024-01: Declaration of Need for Fully Qualified Educators for Rocketship California Schools

At 4:54pm, the board discussed agenda item 4(B).

At 5:04pm, Ms. McGriff made a motion to approve agenda item 4(B), the Declaration of Need for Fully Qualified Educators for Rocketship California Schools. This motion was seconded by Mr. Stanger, and carried unanimously by roll call vote. Y: Alex Terman, April Taylor, Charmaine Detweiler, Dan Sanchez, Daniel Velasco, Deb McGriff, Greg Stanger, Hugo Castaneda, Julie Miller, June Nwabara, Michelle Mercado, Rajen Sheth, Louis Jordan, Mike Fox, Yolanda Bernal Samano, Joey Sloter

N: --

Abstain: --

C. Staff Satisfaction/DEI Survey and Next Steps

At 5:06pm, the board discussed agenda item 4(C). No action was taken.

5. Adjourn

At 5:42pm, Ms. McGriff made a motion to adjourn the meeting. This motion was seconded by Ms. Sloter, and carried

unanimously by roll call vote.
Y: Alex Terman, April Taylor, Charmaine Detweiler, Dan Sanchez, Daniel Velasco, Deb McGriff, Greg Stanger, Hugo Castaneda, Julie Miller, June Nwabara, Michelle Mercado, Rajen Sheth, Louis Jordan, Mike Fox, Yolanda Bernal Samano, Joey Sloter

N: --Abstain: --