Rocketship DC Board of Trustees Meeting (2023-24 Q4) (Tuesday, June 4, 2024)

Generated by Marielys Garcia on Tuesday, June 18, 2024

1. Opening Items

A. Meeting called to order

At 9:01am, Ms. Johnson took roll call.

Present: Justin Bakewell, Matt Aaron, Nana Hanson-Hall, Melissa Martin, Rena Johnson, Joey Sloter, Byron Johnson, Lauren

Marcus

Absent: Kamuzu Saunders

Additional Attendees: Zakiya Sackor, Marielys Garcia, Preston Smith, Tamika Joyner, Ben Carson, Calvet Liburd, Sean Floyd, Lamar Wade, Justin White, Kerry Flanagan, Knox Phillips

2. Consent Items

- A. Approve minutes from March 12, 2024 Rocketship DC Board of Trustees meeting
- **B. SY 24-25 Family Handbook Approval**
- C. Title IX Policy and Grievance Procedures Approval
- D. SY 24-25 Board Meeting Calendar Approval
- E. SY 24-25 Instructional Calendar Approval
- F. SY 24-25 Food Service Contract Approval
- G. SY 24-25 Employee Handbook Approval
- **H. Busy Bee Contract Approval**
- I. Approve CliftonLarsonAllen (CLA) as auditor for the fiscal year 2023-24 consolidated audit for Rocketship Education D.C., Public Charter School, Inc

At 9:02am, Ms. Johnson asked for a motion to approve the consent items. This motion was made by Mr. Johnson, seconded by Ms. Sloter and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Yes: Justin Bakewell, Matt Aaron, Melissa Martin, Nana Hanson-Hall, Rena Johnson, Joey Sloter, Lauren Marcus, Byron Johnson No: ---

Abstain: ---

3. Information Items

A. List of checks in excess of \$100,000

At 9:04 am, the check register noting checks in excess of \$100,000 was shared. No action was taken on item 3(A).

4. Agenda Items

A. Mission Moment

At 9:04am, Ms. Zackor shared the mission moment. No action was taken on agenda item 4(A).

B. Board Chair Update

At 9:07am, Ms. Johnson shared the board chair update. No action was taken on agenda item 4(B).

C. Interim Executive Director Update

At 9:09am, Ms. Zackor shared the interim executive director update. No action was taken on agenda item 4(C).

At 9:11am, Kamuzu Saunders joined the meeting.

D. Approve Rocketship DC 2024-2025 annual plan and budget, including all school-level budgets

At 9:30am, Ms. Flanagan shared an update on the 2024-2025 annual plan. At 9:38, Mr. Carson shared an update regarding the 2024-2025 annual budget and a vote was taken to approve the FY25 budget.

At 9:50 am, Ms. Johnson asked for a motion to approve the FY 25 budget. This motion was made by Ms. Sloter, seconded by Mr. Saunders and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Yes: Justin Bakewell, Matt Aaron, Melissa Martin, Nana Hanson-Hall, Rena Johnson, Joey Sloter, Lauren Marcus, Byron Johnson, Kamuzu Saunders

No: ---

Abstain: ---

E. Development Update

At 9:52am, Mr. Phillips shared the development update. No action was taken on agenda item 4(E).

F. Recruitment and Enrollment Update

At 10:06 am, Ms. Joyner and Mr. Floyd shared a recruitment and enrollment update. No action was taken on agenda item 4(F).

G. BREAK

At 10:35am, the board took a 30 minute break.

5. Closed Session

A. Discussion of Personnel Matters pursuant to DC Code § 2-575(b)(10): Regional Management Update

At 10:38am, Ms. Johnson asked for a motion to move to Closed Session. The motion was made by Ms. Sloter, seconded by Ms. Martin, and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Y: Justin Bakewell, Matt Aaron, Kamuzu Saunders, Byron Johnson, Rena Johnson, Joey Sloter, Melissa Martin, Lauren Marcus N: ---

Abstain: ---

Public report on actions taken in closed session

At 12:00pm, Ms. Johnson took roll call. With a quorum of committee members present, Ms. Johnson called the open session meeting back to order.

Present: Justin Bakewell, Matt Aaron, Kamuzu Saunders, Byron Johnson, Rena Johnson, Joey Sloter, Melissa Martin, Lauren Marcus

At 12:01pm, Ms. Johnson reported that no actions were taken on item 5(A) during the closed session.

6. Adjourn

A. Meeting adjourned

At 12:01pm, Ms. Johnson asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. This motion was made by Ms. Johnson, seconded byMr. Saunders, and carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Y: Justin Bakewell, Matt Aaron, Kamuzu Saunders, Byron Johnson, Rena Johnson, Joey Sloter, Melissa Martin, Lauren Marcus

N: ---

Abstain: ---